PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has selected its officers for 2022-2024.

Carmen Schramm* of Yankton was elected the board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Ann Lesch* of De Smet was elected vice president.

“We are incredibly grateful for the service and steadfast leadership of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. “Their combined experience, knowledge of the tourism industry, leadership through challenging times, and willingness to provide support at a moment’s notice is invaluable.”

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes members of the tourism industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons and advocates for the tourism industry as well as the Department of Tourism.

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Caleb Arceneaux*, Rapid City; Tom Biegler*, Sioux Falls; John Brockelsby*, Rapid City; Ted Hustead*, Wall; Ann Lesch, De Smet; Julie Ranum*, Watertown; Val Rausch*, Big Stone City; Carmen Schramm, Yankton; Frank Smith, Gettysburg; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; and Kristi Wagner, Whitewood.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


Media Notes: For a high-resolution photo of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board and elected officers, follow this link.

Photo of all board members:
L. to R.: Kristi Wagner, Whitewood; Caleb Arceneaux, Rapid City; Carmen Schramm, Yankton; John Brockelsby, Rapid City; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; Ann Lesch, De Smet; Val Rausch, Big Stone City; Frank Smith, Gettysburg

Not pictured: Tom Biegler, Teddy Hustead, Julie Ranum

Photo of officers:
L. to R.: Carmen Schramm, president; Ann Lesch, vice president

*Arceneaux (AR’-cen-oh)
*Biegler (BEE’-glur)
*Brockelsby (BRAHK’-uhlz-bee)
*Hustead (HYOO’-sted)
*Lesch (LEH’-sh)
*Ranum (RAN’-uhm)
*Rausch (RAH’-ow-sh)
*Schramm (sh-RAM’)
*Sorbel (SOR’-bull)


Katlyn Svendsen, Global Media & Public Relations Director
South Dakota Department of Tourism
Email: [email protected]