PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has selected its officers for 2020.

Kristi Wagner of Whitewood was elected the board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Carmen Schramm* of Yankton was elected vice president.

“The guidance and support the advisory board provides the department is critical to the success of the tourism industry in our state,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. “We are fortunate to have leaders on the board who understand the industry’s needs and are passionate about bringing visitors to South Dakota.

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes members of the tourism industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons and advocates for businesses in their area and the South Dakota Department of Tourism. The board also offers input about marketing strategies for the department.

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Caleb Arceneaux*, Rapid City; Tom Biegler*, Sioux Falls; John Brockelsby*, Rapid City; Ted Hustead*, Wall; Ann Lesch*, De Smet; Julie Ranum*, Watertown; Val Rausch*, Big Stone City; Carmen Schramm, Yankton; Frank Smith, Gettysburg; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; and Kristi Wagner, Whitewood.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


For a high-resolution photo of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board and elected officers, follow this link:

Photo of board:
Front row left to right: Carmen Schramm, Yankton; Kristi Wagner, Whitewood; Caleb Arceneaux, Rapid City; Ann Lesch, De Smet
Back row left to right: Val Rausch, Big Stone City; Frank Smith, Gettysburg; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; Julie Ranum, Watertown; John Brockelsby, Rapid City

Not pictured: Tom Biegler and Ted Hustead

Photo of officers:
L. to R.: Carmen Schramm, vice president; Kristi Wagner, president

*Arceneaux (AR’-cen-oh)
*Biegler (BEE’-glur)
*Brockelsby (BRAHK’-uhlz-bee)
*Hustead (HYOO’-sted)
*Lesch (LEH’-sh)
*Ranum (RAN’-uhm)
*Rausch (RAH’-ow-sh)
*Schramm (sh-RAM’)
*Sorbel (SOR’-bull)


Katlyn Richter, Global Media & Public Relations Director
South Dakota Department of Tourism
Phone: 605-773-3301
Email: [email protected]