PIERRE, S.D. –The Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board has selected its officers for 2019.

Ivan Sorbel* of Kyle was reelected the board president during a meeting today in Pierre. Kristi Wagner of Whitewood was reelected vice president.

“The Department of Tourism is grateful and proud of the service provided by our board members, including the second terms of our president and vice president,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. “We are fortunate to have leaders like these who care so deeply about tourism in our state. Their guidance, support and knowledge are invaluable to us.”

The Tourism Advisory Board is appointed by the Governor and includes members of the tourism industry and citizen representatives from across the state. Board members serve as liaisons and advocates for businesses in their area and the South Dakota Department of Tourism. The board also offers input about marketing strategies for the department. 

Current Tourism Advisory Board members include Caleb Arceneaux*, Rapid City; Tom Biegler*, Sioux Falls; John Brockelsby*, Rapid City; Ted Hustead*, Wall; Ann Lesch*, De Smet; Julie Ranum*, Watertown; Carmen Schramm*, Yankton; Frank Smith, Gettysburg; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; and Kristi Wagner, Whitewood.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


Media Notes:

For high resolution photos of the Governor’s Tourism Advisory Board and elected officers, follow this link:

Photo of board: 
L. to R.: Ann Lesch, De Smet; Ivan Sorbel, Kyle; Carmen Schramm, Yankton; Caleb Arceneaux, Rapid City; Julie Ranum, Watertown; John Brockelsby, Rapid City; Kristi Wagner, Whitewood; Tom Biegler, Sioux Falls; Frank Smith, Gettysburg.

Not pictured: Ted Hustead, Wall

Photo of officers:
L. to R.: Ivan Sorbel, president; Kristi Wagner, vice president.

*Arceneaux (AR’-cen-oh)
*Biegler (BEE’-glur)
*Brockelsby (BRAHK’-uhlz-bee)
*Hustead (HYOO’-sted)
*Lesch (LEH’-sh)
*Ranum (RAN’-uhm)
*Schramm (sh-RAM’)
*Sorbel (SOR’-bull)


Katlyn Richter, Global Media & Public Relations Director
South Dakota Department of Tourism
Phone: 605-773-3301
Email: [email protected]