2021 Peter Norbeck Excellence in Tourism Innovation Award

The Peter Norbeck Excellence in Tourism Innovation Award, first presented at the 2013 conference as the Excellence in Tourism Innovation Award, is given by the Department of Tourism to honor an industry partner for its innovative thinking in marketing or special promotion that elevates the visitor's experience. In 2021, the award was renamed to honor Peter Norbeck, South Dakota's ninth Governor and the visionary who saw South Dakota as a world-class tourism destination before there were even paved roads across the state.

Presented to
Rushmore Tramway Adventures

Photo of Secretary Hagen, Rushmore Tramway Adventures and Lt. Gov. Rhoden
Secretary Jim Hagen and Lt. Gov. Larry Rhoden present the 
2021 Peter Norbeck Excellence in Tourism Innovation Award to
Rushmore Tramway Adventures, Keystone,
at the 2022 Governor's Conference on Tourism.
(pictured, left to right: Sec. Hagen, Ben Larson, Cameron Fullerton,
Justin Mickle, Mackenzie Hill and Lt. Gov. Rhoden)

downloadable, hi-res version of this photo (300 dpi)

Rushmore Tramway Adventures, operates a popular tourism offering in the Black Hills and has seen tremendous growth driven by their creative and innovation thinking that has fueled their business.

In 2013, they installed amazing ziplines with a birds-eye view of our nation’s Shrine of Democracy. In 2017, they debuted a two-hour zipline tour through the Black Hills. They’ve always made their attractions accessible for families, from the alpine slide to their chairlift and ropes courses.

Two acres, 11 ziplines, 100 different platforms and countless memories made.

For all their efforts and innovations, Rushmore Tramway Adventures, Keystone, was named the 2021 Peter Norbeck Award recipient.


Back to Tourism Awards