2022 A. H. Pankow Award

A. H. Pankow was South Dakota's first publicity director and a driving force in the early days of the state's tourism industry. The A. H. Pankow Award recognizes a member of the media or public relations industry who has provided exceptional coverage of South Dakota.

Presented to
Kevin Kjergaard

Photo of Deputy Secretary Goodman, Kevin Kjergaard and Governor Noem
Deputy Secretary Wanda Goodman and Governor Kristi Noem present
the 2022 A. H. Pankow Award to Kevin Kjergaard, Sioux Falls,
at the 2023 Governor's Conference on Tourism.

downloadable, hi-res version of this photo (300 dpi)

Kevin Kjergaard is Chief Photographer at KELOLAND TV in Sioux Falls. He has a true passion for wildlife and a gift for noticing animal behavioral patterns. He also has the patience to wait for the right time to capture amazing videos of our state's wildlife. Kevin has gotten such incredible shots that he has been featured 14 times on the CBS Sunday Morning Show. Ten of those two-minute segments featured South Dakota parks and wildlife, including one on Christmas day 2022.


Back to Tourism Awards