A total of $12,500 was awarded as part of Travel South Dakota’s “Rooster Rush” campaign


PIERRE, S.D. – Twenty-three South Dakota communities will have extra money to promote pheasant hunting in their area, thanks to Travel South Dakota’s Rooster Rush campaign.

“Rooster Rush is designed to put a spotlight on South Dakota’s pheasant hunting – the best hunting in the world,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the South Dakota Department of Tourism. “We are proud to work with these communities and help them develop their own Rooster Rush promotions that will attract and welcome hunters.”

Community organizations, such as regional tourism associations, convention and visitor bureaus, chambers of commerce, economic development offices and civic organizations, were given the opportunity to apply for up to $500 in funding for Rooster Rush promotional materials or advertising. Travel South Dakota provided the Rooster Rush logo and ad templates for communities to customize with localized information.

Rooster Rush communities this year include Aberdeen, Clark, De Smet, Eureka, Fort Pierre, Huron, Ipswich, Madison, Milbank, Miller, Mitchell, Mobridge, Pierre, Platte, Plankinton, Presho, Pukwana, Redfield, Sioux Falls, Watertown, White Lake/Stickney, and Winner.

These communities and their organizations will have the opportunity to enter their Rooster Rush marketing efforts for a chance to win the Cacklin’ Community Award. The award is announced at the annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism in January.

The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Travel South Dakota and the South Dakota Arts Council. The department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.



Katlyn Svendsen, Global Public Relations & Content Services Senior Director
Travel South Dakota
Email: [email protected]


Newsroom Home